Issue Two Editorial: There Will Be A Time

 

When I was a child, I read from some of the finest writers from the early generation of Ghanaian writers. I still have some of their books on my shelves. Many a time, I ask myself who the next generation of Ghanaian writers will be as I pass by those books. The question of whether Ghanaian writing is on the rise or fall is by now cliché. Mostly probably, what we have not done much in the last decade or so are to explore spaces for placing our creative works.

In continuing with the tradition established by Okyeame, Ntakra and other early Ghanaian literary journals, we hope this venture will not just be a memory but it will introduce a new generation of Ghanaian writers as we join the rest of the world for a literary communion.

In this issue, we present writers from different generations with different tastes for aesthetics and are from different countries. Darko Antwi captures the immediate scene to the death of Auntie Araba, a persona. She is not only leaving but she wants a better, peaceful home for those left behind. The young writer, Adelaide Aseidu writes a fascinating story about career choices. Here are what we present:

Poetry

  1. The Last Words Of Auntie Araba – Darko Antwi
  2. Dirty Trip, Approved                     –         Ben Nardolili
  3. In Wild Hunger                              –             Joan McNerney
  4. The Truth                                       –                Steve Klepetar
  5. Wanderer’s Words                         –         G. Edzordzi Agbozo
  6. I Saw Your Face Up There           –         Kyle  Kacza

Interview
The People Who Write Questionnaire: Ayesha Haruna Attah with Nana Ekua Brew-Hammond

Fiction
The Rustling Of Leaves – Adelaide Aseidu
Dreams Of Night –              Kofi Takyi Asante

Non-Fiction
On Time – Achiro Patricia Olwoch

It is also worthy of mention that Aisha Nelson has joined us as a poetry editor and co-founder. Ehanom Review is now a monthly journal. We hope you will enjoy reading these works as much as we have enjoyed reading them. Let’s commune for yet another literary feast next month. Thank you and may God bless us all.

Best,
Kwabena Agyare Yeboah.
Kumasi- Ashanti.

 

5 thoughts on “Issue Two Editorial: There Will Be A Time”

  1. As a child most of the books I read weren’t by African writers.
    And I believe I enjoyed reading books by non-African writers because at a point those are the authors I was used to.

    The few books written by Africans (Ghanaians, mostly storybooks) I read weren’t as interesting as the non-African – maybe I had to acquire the taste for reading books written by Africans.
    There were a few of them I enjoyed reading , but I cannot mention the names of the authors or the books just because I wasn’t (and I think I still am) good at keeping the names of both. It was same with the non-African books; I just liked to enjoy reading new books (or re-reading books I liked) and learning new words/phrases.

    At this moment, the question I ask myself is how would Ghanaian /African children enjoy reading books by Ghanaian/African writers?

    By the way, congratulations to Aisha Nelson on her new role.

    1. i had a similar experience too,the literature was introduced to me was not Ghanaian or African for that matter. I did have several reads on Ghanaian folktales and short stories. I am of little knowledge of the statistic on the early generation of Ghanaian writers and i question if our oral traditions had anything to do with that. Also, I do have one question- an important one to me, who is a Ghanaian writer ? because, based on some observations,the referencing of our culture against the structure of the story’s entirety seems somewhat misplaced.

  2. I hardly get the first part of your comment. Folklores and short stories form part of literature, no?
    On the question of who a Ghanaian writer is, I used it as a generic of identity. It got nothing to do with aesthetics or at least, it is time specific. Like the literatures of elsewhere, some Ghanaian works can be post-colonial, feminist etc. But that is not my basic preoccupation. That is based on the aesthetics and ideologies.

  3. I appreciate African literary works. I’ve read a few Ghanaian writers. It feels good to see Africans taking up the pen to craft aesthetic words with imagery, but Africans must guard against being desperate, or copying misguided foreigners. Beauty is destroyed when we write and promote ideas that destroy human virtue. We do not write to please the world. Lets write things that are beautiful. It pays.

Leave a Reply

