The last words of Aunt Araba

I am going…
when I am gone,
tell Kojo to put away the bottle
else akpeteshie will take a photo of him

I am going…
when I am gone,
tell Birago not to put her head on her husband
for I have not seen a pillow in that man

I am going…
when I am gone,
tell Asantewaa to knock at Esi’s door
for she owes me five okra and an onion

I am going…
when I am gone,
tell Ebo to dig a foot deep around the odum
for I have hidden dozens of stones

I am going..
when I am gone,
tell Kakraba not to marry from Manso-Krom
for their women are lions and scorpions

I am going…
when I am gone,
invite Kuntu and offer him some drink
tell him: he has my pardon over the land dispute

I am going…
when I am gone,
tell Aba: I don’t need her shadow at my funeral
for the arrows of her falsehood have crushed my soul

I am going…
when I am gone,
be faithful with your vows to Nananom
that you may have their blessing and avoid their wrath

I am going…
ah… oh… oh…

 

Bio.

Darko Antwi was born in Ashanti New Town, Kumasi, in May 1976 to Kwaku Antwi and Elizabeth Donkor. After his secondary education at Bekwai Seventh Day Adventist, Antwi taught in local kindergarten and primary schools for five years.

In September 2002 he travelled to the United Kingdom. During his stay in England, he was occupied by a string of odd jobs, including the position of a factory labourer, fabric launderer and newspaper columnist.

Antwi is currently the proprietor of Seaweed Books, publishers of Phillis Wheately Chapter and organizers of both the Ahenkro Book Fair and the Miss Akoto Book Club.

Leave a Reply

